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New!! Education Classes
for Medicaid Beneficiaries

Learn about your Medicaid health care and
win a free gift card!

Are you new to Medicaid? Come learn how to get the
most out of your Medicaid benefits. The class is free
and open to all Medicaid families.

Come to our free session to learn more about
Arkansas Medicaid and ARKids First benefits. These
sessions will help you understand more about:

e Starting with Medicaid

¢ ConnectCare and why you should choose a
doctor

* Emergency room visits — when to go and when
not to go to the emergency room

¢ Copayments and billing

¢ Free car rides to the doctor

*  Your Medicaid rights

We will also help you choose your doctor through
ConnectCare.

These free sessions will be held in your area each
month. To sign up for a session in your area, visit
www.afmc.org/ARBeneEd or call 1-855-275-5948.

Bring your Medicaid or ARKids First card to
your session. Those who attend have a chance to
win a $25 gift card!

Source: Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care (AFMC)

IMPORTANT!!! You must have proof
of insurance for your tax return.

f you or a family member has health insurance
through Medicaid, ARKids or the Health Care
Independence Program, please read the important

news below.

Federal law requires Americans to show they have
health insurance when they file their taxes. The DHS
will begin mailing the letters of proof in January.
This will take a few weeks. All letters may not be out
until early February. Letters will go to people with
qualifying coverage through one of the programs
listed above.

The proof you need when you file
your taxes is called a 1095-B form.
Each family member with health
insurance through DHS will receive
his or her own letter. The letters
from DHS may include more than
one form for the same person. Keep all of them. Take
them with you when you file your taxes.

If you have not received your 1095 by early February
or you have questions about the form call
1-844-461-3860. This number is only for questions
about the forms.

DHS will mail the letters with the proof you need to
the address it has on file for you. Contact your local
county office and provide them with your correct
address if you have moved.

Source: DHS
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ar crashes are the number one cause of death for

Arkansas children. It is important for parents to
choose the best-fitting car seat for their child and make
sure they are buckled in right. Read your child’s car
seat instructions after you buy it to make sure you put
it in your car the right way. Then you must set a good
example and always wear your seatbelt.

Take these steps to make sure your child is safe in a

car:

* Infants (newborn to 2 years) should ride in a car
seat that is facing the rear. Some car seats require
children to stay rear-facing until they reach 35
pounds.

* Children (from 2 years to 4 years) should ride in
a forward-facing car seat with a harness until they
outgrow it. This will happen around age 4 or when
they weigh 40 pounds.

*  Children (from 5 years) should sit in a booster seat
until the seat belt fits the child right without the
booster seat. The seat belt fits right if it lies across
the upper thighs (not across the stomach) and the
shoulder belt lies across the shoulder and chest (not
the neck).

*  Children should ride in the back seat until they are
at least 13 years old. ¢

Shaken ”’u/

Shaken Baby Syndrome is a bad brain

injury caused by repeated, violent shaking

that makes a baby’s brain move inside
its skull. Shaken Baby Syndrome is child
abuse that does not have to happen.

. Never shake your baby. The shaking
can cause serious harm, such as
bleeding in the eyes or brain. At least
one of every four babies who are shaken

dies from the injuries. Other signs of

Shaken Baby Syndrome are:

Limp body

Trouble breathing

Poor feeding or sucking

Seizures

Throwing up

Pale or blue colored skin

The main cause of Shaken Baby Syndrome

is endless crying. It is normal for a growing

child to have long time spans of crying. Crying
doesn’t mean your baby is mad at you or he isn’t
behaving well. Sometimes they just need to cry.
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* Be aware of recalls. The car seat maker will
issue a safety recall when their car seat has safety
issues. Follow their instructions for returning the
car seat when you hear about them. Recalls can
be found on the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration website, www.nhtsa.gov, or by
calling the Vehicle Safety Hotline at 888-327-4236.

* Ifyou are involved in a car crash, you should buy
a new car seat. Even small car crashes can cause
problems with your child’s car seat.

* Look for expiration dates. Be careful when buying
used car seats because they can expire. Never buy
a car seat that does not have instructions or a label
telling you when the car seat
expires.

For more information:
National Highway
Traffic Safety
Administration
(www.nhtsa.gov)

Source: cdc.gov

syndrome

Parents can try these ways to calm a crying baby:
¢ Rock or cuddle your baby close to your body
¢ Be sure your baby is not hungry, too hot or cold
or his diaper needs to be changed

Wrap your baby in a baby blanket

Rock or swing your baby in an baby swing
Take the baby for a car ride

Play soft music or sing to your baby

Give your baby a pacifier

Place your baby on their back in their crib to
help them to go to sleep
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Try these steps if your baby’s crying is stressful to
you:

¢ Put your baby in a safe place and leave the room
Wait a few minutes to return to your baby

Take slow, deep breaths

Wash your face with warm water

Get active: walk, do push-ups or sit ups

Ask family or a friend for support

L] L] L] L] L]

If your baby continues to cry, call your doctor. He
may be sick.
Source: cdc.gov
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Bacterial vs Viral Infections:
When Do Antibiotics Work?

f your child gets sick with a sore throat or cold this winter

there are certain types of medicine that works best for the
specific sickness. Illnesses may be caused by a bacterial or
viral infection. Take your child to the doctor if the sickness
does not improve or go away.

Bacterial Infection

Bacteria can cause illnesses like strep throat and whooping
cough. If your child has an illness that is caused by a
bacterial infection it should be treated with an antibiotic.
Antibiotic use can only cure bacterial illnesses—not viral
illnesses. There are many different types of antibiotics.
Your doctor will choose the right antibiotic for your child’s
infection.

Viral Infection

Viral illnesses, like colds, usually go away without treatment
in a week or two. Green colored mucus from the nose is
NOT a sign that an antibiotic is needed. As the body fights
off an infection, mucus can change color. This is normal. If
the doctor says your child has a sickness caused by a virus,
there are no medicines to make the sickness go away. If your
child has a viral infection, you can help your child feel better
by treating the symptoms. The symptoms may be a fever or
a runny nose. Antibiotics will NOT help to cure an illness
caused by a virus. Only your doctor will know for sure and
will give you a prescription for the antibiotic medicine if it is
needed.

Antibiotic
i

Cold/Runny Nose NO
Bronchitis/Chest Cold {in otherwise healthy children and adults) ‘/ NO
Whooping Cough / Yes
Flu v NO
Strep Throat ‘/ Yes
Sore Throat (eicept sirep) / NO
Fluid in the Middle Ear {otitis media with effusion) / NO

Talk with your doctor about the best way to care for your
child when they are sick. When an antibiotic is not prescribed,
ask your child’s doctor what can be used to relieve symptoms.
The bottom line is antibiotics can only treat bacterial infections
- not viral infections.

Source cdc.gov

Steps you can take now to
protect your family.

* Keep items that can catch on fire at least three
feet away from anything that gets hot, such as
space heaters.

* Never smoke in bed.

» Talk to your children regularly about the dangers
of fire, matches and lighters and keep them out of
reach.

» Turn portable heaters off when you leave the
room or go to sleep.

SMOKE Alarms

* Install smoke alarms on every level of your home,
inside bedrooms and outside sleeping areas.

» Teach your children what smoke alarms sound
like and what to do when they hear one.

» Test smoke alarms once a month, if they’re not
working, change the batteries.

* Smoke alarms should be replaced every 10 years.
Never disable smoke or carbon monoxide alarms.

e Carbon monoxide alarms are not substitutes for
smoke alarms. Know the difference between the
sound of smoke alarms and carbon monoxide
alarms.

Fire Escape Planning

* Ensure that all household members know two
ways to escape from every room of your home.

* Make sure everyone knows where to meet
outside in case of fire.

* Practice escaping from your home at least twice
a year and at different times of the day. Practice
waking up to smoke alarms, low crawling and
meeting outside. Make sure everyone knows how
to call 9-1-1.

e Teach household members to STOP, DROP and
ROLL if their clothes should catch on fire.

Source: American Red Cross L e
http://www.redcross.org/prepare/disaster/home-fire
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ConnectCare News is printed for
Medicaid/ARKids First customers

If you are not on our mailing list and would like to
receive this newsletter, or would like to receive this
newsletter in Spanish, please email us at
Connectcare.outreach@arkansas.gov or call our office.

Si usted no esta en nuestra lista de correo y quisiera
recibir este boletin, o quisiera recibir este boletin en
Espaiiol, por favor envienos un correo electrénico a
Connectcare.outreach@arkansas.gov o llame a nuestra
oficina.
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e § Ask the Expert:

| II II Your Medicad and ARKids First Who do | call if | have a Medicaid
question or problem? Below are the

Connection to a Medical Home

HELPLINE
Call 1-800-275-1131 numbers to call.
TDD 1-800-285-1131
www.seeyourdoc.org Medicaid eligibility - renewal notice, affordable health
. ) care coverage, lost Medicaid card
ConnectCare Helpline can: Access Arkansas 1-800-482-8988
e Assign or change your doctor
e Refer you for help if we cannot help you Mgdicaid Bi_llin.g - denial of a claim, benefit limits, or
) o prior authorization
 Tell you if your Medicaid is still active Client Assistance/Medicaid Claims 1-800-482-5431
DENTAL PROGRAM Medicaid transg)ortatlon can give you a ride to medical
Call 1-800-322-5580 appointments if you qualify
TDD 1-800-285-1131 Transportation Help Line 1-888-987-1200 and follow the
ConnectCare Dental Program can help: directions

*  Find a Medicaid dentist in your area Grievance Hotline - to complain about your doctor

e  Schedule dental appointments Medicaid Beneficiary Complaint line 1-888-987-1200 and

o i . follow the instructions
e Assist with transportation (Medicaid

and ARKids First A only) Assign or change your doctor -
e Remind you of appointments ConnectCare 1-800-275-1131 Source: ConnectCare

e Reschedule missed appointments
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